Rob Ryan : Any changes in car insurance in FLORIDA for 2013?
Florida car insurance for 2013
Florida is a No-fault state, and hence on the liability besides the requirement of Third party liability for person and property but also the requirement for Personal Injury. HB 119 Motor Vehicle Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance was signed into law by Florida Gov. Rick Scott in May 2012. This law is an important auto insurance law in years as per the insurance industry. This law seeks to clamp down on alleged abuse and fraud and improve the state’s no-fault, personal injury protection (PIP) system.
Fraud has been a biggest draw back and loss leader for Florida, New Jersey and California for auto insurance. Fraud has increased the cost of car insurance claims and this has been one of the reasons, the sunshine state is seeing an increase in car insurance rates.
Changes on car insurance in Jan 1 2013
The medical benefits provisions of the law will take effect on Jan. 1, 2013. They include the requirement that accident victims report an auto-related injury and seek treatment within 14 days. Under the new law, those physicians and facilities able to diagnose individuals seeking treatment under PIP medical benefits are: licensed physicians, licensed osteopathic physicians, licensed chiropractic physicians, licensed dentists, hospitals, facilities that own or are owned by hospitals, or licensed emergency transportation or treatment providers.
The law also applies two coverage limits for PIP medical benefits, based on the severity of the individuals medical condition. Policyholders could receive up to $10,000 in benefits for emergency medical care and $2,500 for other less serious injuries. Follow up medical care must also be consistent with the underlying medical diagnosis rendered when the initial services and care were received.
In addition to the $10,000 in medical and disability benefits, $5,000 in death benefits is offered. The death benefit was previously the lesser of the unused benefits, up to a limit of $5,000. The PIP medical fee schedule revisions to help resolve alleged ambiguities in the schedule also take effect in January. Revisions include clarifying the reimbursement levels for care provided by ambulatory surgical centers and clinical laboratories. Insurers will be required to include notice of the fee schedule in their policies.
Here is a video
Remember the important points:
1) See a doctor immediately you are involved in car accident.
2) The doctor has to diagnosis any medical emergency related to the accident within 14 days.
3) After 14 days the amount of coverage is reduced to a mere $2500/-
Would these changes increase car insurance rates in Florida?
What is important to remember that you are not giving your money for nothing, you need to see a doctor immediatly . Take action immediately once you get into an accident.
It would be a good idea to get personal health coverage just for your safety by saving on car insurance. However, if you still feel that this is something, which is much higher, rest assured that you can get a free car insurance quote, here. You just have to give a little bit of time to save a lot of money. Would you do that and help yourself?
Young driver car insurance